Latest Award Winners

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

 Fiction: The Labyrinth (Amanda Lohrey, Text)

Poetry: The Strangest Place: New and selected poems (Stephen Edgar, Black Pepper)

Nonfiction: The Stranger Artist: Life at the edge of Kimberley painting (Quentin Sprague, Hardie Grant)

Australian history: People of the River: Lost worlds of early Australia (Grace Karskens, A&U)

YA literature: Metal Fish, Falling Snow (Cath Moore, Text)

Children’s literature (joint winners): Fly on the Wall (Remy Lai, Walker Books) and How to Make a Bird (Meg McKinlay, illus by Matt Ottley, Walker Books Australia).

For more information, click here.

The Voss Literary Prize 2021

Amanda Lohrey has won the 2021 Voss Literary Prize for her novel The Labyrinth (Text).

This year’s judges Elaine Lindsay, Christian Bok, Rosalind Smith, Anthony Uhlmann and Ann Vickery said The Labyrinth is ‘a cool, elegant novel that explores the consolations and mystery of art—in this instance, through the immersion of self in the act of doing’.

For more information, visit the Voss Literary Prize website.



🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top