Winner – Rathbones Folio Prize

Australian author Michelle de Kretser has won in the fiction category of the Rathbones Folio Prize, for her novel Scary Monsters (A&U).

In the award’s first year under a new prize structure, winners were named in three categories, fiction, poetry and nonfiction. Each category winner receives £2000 (A$3500) and the overall prize winner receives £30,000 (A$52,500).

Judges described Scary Monsters, chosen from a shortlist announced in February, as ‘a work of beautifully composed genius, two consonant stories work to disorient and entangle, disarm and fascinate, all while implicating the reader’s private experience with those of the lives in the novel. This is a book that troubles and disquiets, dazzles and delights, and with lively wit and intelligence, will also make you laugh darkly.’

Last year, Irish writer Colm Tóibín won the Folio Prize for his novel The Magician (Picador).  Click here for the QRC review of The Magician.

For more information, see the Folio Prize website.

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top