ABIA Awards 2023

The shortlists for the 2023 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) have been announced.

The shortlisted books in two of the categories are:

General fiction book of the year

  • Dirt Town (Hayley Scrivenor, Macmillan)  *
  • The Tilt (Chris Hammer, A&U)  *
  • Exiles (Jane Harper, Macmillan)  *
  • Day’s End (Garry Disher, Text)
  • Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone (Benjamin Stevenson, Michael Joseph).

* these books have been reviewed by QRC.

Literary fiction book of the year

  • All That’s Left Unsaid (Tracey Lien, HQ Fiction)
  • The Sun Walks Down (Fiona McFarlane, A&U)
  • Horse (Geraldine Brooks, Hachette)
  • Seeing Other People (Diana Reid, Ultimo Press)
  • Limberlost (Robbie Arnott, Text)

The winners will be announced alongside the winners of the ABIA business awards at a gala dinner in Sydney on Thursday, 25 May. The shortlists for the business awards, including two new categories, will be announced on 9 May.

To see all the shortlists and for more information, click here.

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top