ABIA Awards 2023 – Tim Winton

ABIA 2023 – Lloyd O’Neil Award

Tim Winton will receive the Lloyd O’Neil Award, which honours outstanding service to the Australian book industry by a member from within its ranks. Winton has published 29 books for adults and younger readers over his 40-year literary career, with his work translated into 28 different languages. He has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize twice (for The Riders and Dirt Music) and has won numerous awards, including four Miles Franklin Literary Awards, for ShallowsCloudstreetDirt Music, and Breath.

Most recently, Winton has written, narrated and executive produced the nature documentary series Ningaloo Nyinggulu—screening around the world, and on ABC TV and iView from 16 May. Winton was designated a living national treasure by the Australian National Trust in 1998, and the ABIAs are now formally honouring his significant contribution to Australia’s cultural and literary landscape.

Author photo by Violeta J Brosig – Blue Media Exmouth.

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top