The Australian/Vogel’s Award for Young Writers

Winner – The Australian / Vogel’s Awards for Young Writers

Anna McGahan’s Immaculate is the 2023 winner of The Australian / Vogel’s Award for Young Writers that has launched the careers of over a hundred Australian authors, including Anna’s uncle, beloved Australian novelist Andrew McGahan. The award is one of Australia’s richest and most prestigious awards for an unpublished manuscript by a writer under the age of thirty-five.

Anna McGahan is a writer and actor. She is the author of the memoir Metanoia and a collection of poetry, Skin. She has writen plays, screenplays, and essays for The Griffith Review, The Guardian and other publications. Anna is best known for her work as a television and theatre actor (In Our Blood, Underbelly, Razor, House Husbands, Anzac Girls, Dr Blake etc), and was the recipient of the Heath Ledger Scholarship in 2012. She lives in Meanjin (Brisbane) with her two daughters.

Photograph by Beata Mazur.

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top