2023 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards


Creative Australia announced the winners of the 2023 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards at the National Library of Australia in Canberra today. The Awards are the richest literary prize in the nation, with a tax-free prize pool of $600,000 in recognition of the outstanding literary talents of established and emerging Australian writers, illustrators, poets, and historians. The winners were chosen by an independent panel of judges.

In congratulating the winners, Prime Minister Anthony Albanese said, “These prestigious awards reflect the Government’s commitment to supporting arts and culture. They build the international reputation of Australia’s writers by sharing our stories with the world.

Our creative sector is central to Australia’s soul and national identity – and it is important that the Australian Government recognises the contribution writers and illustrators make to our cultural life.”

 The winners include:

FICTION | Cold Enough for Snow | Jessica Au (Giramondo)

NON-FICTION | My Father and Other Animals | Sam Vincent (Black Inc Books)

YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE | The Greatest Thing | Sarah Winifred Searle (Allen & Unwin)

AUSTRALIAN HISTORY | Unmaking Angas Downs | Shannyn Palmer (Melbourne University Press)

For more information on the Awards, including this year’s shortlists, winners, and judging panel comments, please visit: Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

Unmaking Angas Downs has been reviewed by QRC.  Click here to read our review.

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top