2020 ABIA shortlist



The 2020 shortlist includes some of the biggest names in the Australian book industry (which publishes over 7,000 new books annually) and this year’s list is a top-shelf showcase of high profile authors and amazing new talent. The shortlist finalises the titles, publishers and authors in the running for the 2020 ABIAs. A selection of the lists appear below.

General Fiction Book of the Year:

  • Bruny, Heather Rose (Allen & Unwin, Allen & Unwin)
  • Cilka’s Journey, Heather Morris (Echo Publishing, Echo Publishing)
  • Good Girl, Bad Girl, Michael Robotham (Hachette Australia, Hachette Australia)
  • Silver, Chris Hammer (Allen & Unwin, Allen & Unwin)
  • The Scholar, Dervla McTiernan (HarperCollins Publishers, HarperCollins Publishers).

Literary Fiction Book of the Year

  • Damascus, Christos Tsiolkas (Allen & Unwin, Allen & Unwin)
  • The Weekend, Charlotte Wood (Allen & Unwin, Allen & Unwin)
  • The Yield, Tara June Winch (Penguin Random House Australia, Hamish Hamilton)
  • There Was Still Love, Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia, Hachette Australia)
  • Wolfe Island, Lucy Treloar (Pan Macmillan Australia, Picador Australia)

A number of the above titles have been reviewed in these pages.


🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top