Book News

Author Event – Emma Viskic

The Avid Reader at West End is hosting an author event with Emma Viskic.  Emma is the author of the Caleb Zelic series.  Three of the books have been reviewed by QRC.  To read the reviews. click on the title – And Fire Came Down; Darkness for Light and Those Who Perish [her latest book]. Those Who Perish A remote

Read More »

ABIA Longlists 2022

ABIA Longlists 2022  The longlists for the 2022 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) have been announced. The ABIA longlists were selected by the ABIA Academy, which comprises over 250 industry representatives. The shortlists will be announced on 23 May, with the winners in each category, as well as the winners of the Lloyd O’Neill Hall

Read More »

Indie Book Awards 2022

The Indies are considered the forerunners of all major Australian book awards. Since the Awards inception in 2008, the Indies have a well-deserved reputation for picking the best of the best in Australian writing. Past Book of the Year winners have gone on to be bestsellers and win other major literary awards. Previous winners include:

Read More »

Meet the Author – Robert Lukins

Robert Lukins – Loveland Avid Reader Bookshop has an Author Event with Robert Lukins.  Brief details are below but for all the details, click here. Thursday 10 March 2022 6:30 PM – 7:30 PM In store at Avid Reader Bookshop / ZOOM Online Register until 10 March 2022 4:00 PM To read the QRC review of Loveland,

Read More »

2022 Dublin Literary Award

2022 Dublin Literary Award Seventy-nine books have been nominated by libraries around the world for the 2022 DUBLIN Literary Award, which is sponsored by Dublin City Council. Now in its 27th year, this award is the world’s most valuable annual prize for a single work of fiction published in English, worth €100,000 to the winner.

Read More »

2022 Indie Book Awards – Shortlist

Australian independent booksellers are thrilled to announce their Shortlist for the Indie Book Awards 2022, their favourite Australian books published in 2021! Established in 2008, the Indie Book Awards recognize and celebrate this country’s incredible literary talent and who better to nominate and judge the best-of-the-best than indie booksellers – the ultimate champions of great

Read More »
Scroll to Top