Indie Book Awards 2022

The Indies are considered the forerunners of all major Australian book awards. Since the Awards inception in 2008, the Indies have a well-deserved reputation for picking the best of the best in Australian writing. Past Book of the Year winners have gone on to be bestsellers and win other major literary awards. Previous winners include: The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams, There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett, Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton; Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend; The Dry by Jane Harper; The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood; The Bush by Don Watson; The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan; The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman; All That I Am by Anna Funder; The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do; Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey; and Breath by Tim Winton.

The Winners for the Indie Book Awards 2022 are:


Love Stories by Trent Dalton (Fourth Estate Australia)


Once There Were Wolves by Charlotte McConaghy (Hamish Hamilton Australia)


Love Stories by Trent Dalton (Fourth Estate Australia)


The Silent Listener by Lyn Yeowart (Viking Australia)


Still Life by Amber Creswell Bell (Thames & Hudson Australia)


Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief by Katrina Nannestad (ABC Books, HarperCollins Australia)


The Monster of Her Age by Danielle Binks (Lothian Children’s Books).

For more information about the Indie Awards, click here.

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top