The Ned Kelly Awards 2022

The Australian Crime Writers Association received 135 entries for the 2022 Ned Kelly Awards, in another strong year of crime writing. The entries were narrowed to a shortlist of 19 books, across the four award categories: Best Crime Fiction, Best True Crime, Best Debut Crime Fiction, and Best International Crime Fiction published in Australia.

Two shortlists appear below with the winners highlighted.  Those marked with * have been reviewed in these pages.


The Enemy Within – Tim Ayliffe.

The Others – Mark Brandi *

You had it Coming – BM Carroll.

The Chase – Candice Fox.

Kill Your Brother – Jack Heath *

The Family Doctor – Debra Oswald.

The Deep – Kyle Perry.


Sweet Jimmy – Bryan Brown *

Shadow Over Edmund Street – Suzanne Frankham.

Cutters End – Margaret Hickey.

Banjawarn – Josh Kemp *

To see the full shortlists and the winners, click here.

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top