Miles Franklin Literary Award 2024

Miles Franklin Award

The shortlist for the 2024 Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced.

The shortlisted titles, selected from a longlist announced in May, are:

  • Only Sound Remains (Hossein Asgari, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • Wall (Jen Craig, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • Anam (André Dao, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Bell of the World (Gregory Day, Transit Lounge)
  • Hospital (Sanya Rushdi, Giramondo)
  • Praiseworthy (Alexis Wright, Giramondo).

‘The writers have distinguished themselves with their experimentation with techniques, forms, and narrative styles.  The six books on the shortlist hold a mirror to the expressions and excitements of contemporary Australian writing. They chronicle significant happenings, connect intimately with the multifarious denizens across Australia, and make us part of a global tapestry of interconnected imaginations’. [Quote from the judges of the Award].

The winner of this year’s award will be announced on 1 August and will receive $60,000.

Picture credit: courtesy Perpetual/Miles Franklin Literary Award.

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

🤞 Want to get the latest book reviews in your inbox?

Scroll to Top